March 24, 2023

After receiving applications from a total of 13 European cities to become European Youth Capital 2026, an independent jury has shortlisted the five finalist cities on March 23. Congratulations to the cities of Izmir, Málaga , Sarajevo , Tromsø  & Vila do Conde – we wish the finalists all the best for the upcoming time!

Even if it wasn’t quite enough for the municipality of Gratwein-Straßengel this year, we are very proud to have participated in this together with 12 extraordinarily great cities from all over Europe:

  • Ankara (Türkiye)
  • Antalya (Türkiye)
  • Chisinau (Moldova)
  • Gratwein-Straßengel (Austria)
  • Izmir (Türkiye)
  • Konya (Türkiye)
  • Leeds (United Kingdom)
  • Lund (Sweden)
  • Málaga (Spain)
  • Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
  • Tromsø (Norway)
  • Tuzla (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
  • Vila do Conde (Portugal)


Photo credit: European Youth Forum –